Act of Approach – Delight in God

Sunrise over Ullswater, Lake DIstrict, UK

The Incomprehensible but Prayer-Hearing God,

You are known, but beyond knowledge,

revealed, but unrevealed

My wants and well-being draw me closer to You,

for you have never said, “You will seek me in vain.”

To You I come in my difficulties, necessities, and distresses;

dwell within me

with a spirit of grace and satisfaction

with a prayerful attitude of mind

with access into the comfort of your fellowship,

so that in the ordinary events of life my thoughts and desire may rise to You,

And in committed devotion I may find a resource

that will soothe my sorrows,

and sanctify my successes,

and qualify me in all your ways in dealing with my fellow man.

I worship you that you have made me able to know you

 The author of all being

                Of resembling you, the perfection of all that is excellent

                Of enjoying you, who is the source of all happiness.

O God, draw near to me in every part of my difficult and trying journey

I need the same counsel, defense, and comfort that I found at the beginning.

Let my religious affections be more obvious to my mind,

and more noticeable to others.

While Jesus stands as my representative in Heaven,

may I think on him all the more on Earth,

while He pleads my cause before you,

may I show him increasing praise.

Continue to be gentle to me by the goodness of your character

and whether I am awake or asleep, let  your presence go with me

and your abundant blessing meet my needs.

You have led me on and I have found all of your promises true,

I have been filled with sorrows, but you have been my help,

I have been fearful, but you have delivered me,

I have despaired, but you have lifted me up.

Your promises are ever before me,

And I praise you, O God!

 

Adapted from Valley of Vision, p.18-19

Leave a Reply

