My Need of Jesus

1

Lord Jesus,

I am blind, be my light

I am ignorant, be my wisdom

I am self-willed, be my thoughts

Open my ears to hear in this moment the Spirit’s voice,

And may I run gladly to his beckoning hand.

Melt my conscience that no hardness of heart remains in me,

And make me ever aware of evil’s slightest temptation

When Satan approaches, may I find solace in your wounds,

And there help me not to tremble at worldly things

Lord, be my good shepherd and lead me into

The green pastures of your Word

And cause me to lie down beside the waters of its comfort

Fill me with peace, that I will not be tossed by the winds of this world

So I will find peace in the midst of life’s storms

Your cross O Jesus, was raised to be my refuge

Your blood O Christ, flowed down to wash me clean

Your death O Savior occurred to give me security

Your name O LORD is my inheritance and salvation

In you and by you all of heaven is planted into my heart

Yet I am too finite to comprehend your boundless love

I was a stranger, an outcast, a slave, a rebel

But your cross has brought me near

You have softened my heart

You have made me your Father’s child

You have admitted me into your family,

You have made me a fellow-heir with you.

O that I may love you as you love me,

That I will walk worthy of you, my Lord

That I will reflect your image

May I always see your beauty with the clarity of faith,

And may I feel the power of your Spirit at work in my heart,

For unless He moves mightily in me

There can be no fire kindled within.

Translation from Valley of Vision, Need of Jesus; p.186

 

Leave a Reply

