Act of Approach

tumblr_n3ubb09msv1t0qed6o1_500

A Prayer for today and every day:

 

Unchanging Lord,

I praise you continually for permission to approach your throne of grace,

     And to lay my wants and desires before you.

I am not worthy of your blessings and mercies

     For I am far gone from innocence

My depraved nature reveals itself in disobedience and rebellion;

My younger years discovered in my heart the roots of discontent, pride, envy, revenge.

Remember not the sins of my youth, 

  Nor the multiplied transgressions of my later years,

     my failure to improve and use time and talents,

     my abuse of your mercy and blessings,

     my wasted Sabbath days of rest,

     my perverted seasons of grace,

     my long neglect of your great salvation,

     my disregard of the Friend of sinners.

 While I confess to you my guilt, help me to feel it in the depths of my heart,

     with self-denial and genuine sorrow, yet

     to remember there is hope in You,

     and to see the Lamb that takes away sin.

Through Him may I return to you,

     listen to you,

     trust in you,

     delight in you,

     obey your Word,

     be upheld by you

 Preserve my understanding from the error of my flesh,

     my affections from the love of idols,

     my lips from speaking evil,

     my conduct from the stain of vice,

     my character from the appearance of evil,

           that I may be harmless, blameless, rebukeless,

           exemplary, useful, light-giving, prudent,

           zealous for your glory

           and the good of my fellow man.  Amen

 

Translated from The Valley of Vision #262

Leave a Reply

