Being Known

known

For the professing Christian, the revelation of our position as a child of God (John 1:12-13), known by him and loved by him, is a glorious and life-changing reality. To know just how rebellious and sinful I am, even on my best day, yet God saves me and calls me “his own” it a blessing to my soul beyond words. This knowledge of how deeply God knows me is, as J.I. Packer calls it, “momentous”. I am currently re-reading Packer’s phenomenal work, Knowing God, and I found the following section especially helpful.

“What matters supremely, therefore, is not, in the last analysis, the fact that I know God, but the larger fact which underlies it – the fact that he knows me. I am graven on the palms of his hands. I am never out of his mind. All my knowledge of him depends on his sustained initiative in knowing me. I know him because he first knew me, and continues to know me. He knows me as a friend, one who loves me, and there is no moment when his eye is off me, or his attention distracted from me, and no moment, therefore, when his care falters.”

“This is momentous knowledge. There is unspeakable comfort – the sort of comfort that energizes, be it said, not enervates – in knowing that God is constantly taking knowledge of me in love and watching over me for my good. There is tremendous relief in knowing that his love to me is utterly realistic, based at ever point on prior knowledge of the worst about me, so that no discovery now can disillusion him about me, in the way I am do often disillusioned about myself, and quench his determination to bless me.” From, Knowing God by J.I. Packer

It is important to point out that God’s knowledge of me is rooted in his goodness and grace and not in my performance, obedience, or inherent goodness. In fact, my performance is severely lacking of any merit, my obedience is tainted with constant failure, and I am certain, because I know my own heart, that I am not “inherently good.” But God IS good. He is so good, and so loving, and so kind, and so gracious, that he has chosen by his own will and out of his endless love, to love me and know me. That kind of knowledge truly is momentous. So much so that it changes everything about how I see the world and how I seek to live for God’s will over my own. And even when I fail or forget, he still knows me and chooses to love me.

My prayer for you is that you would submit your life to God and be joyfully blessed to be known by him in such an incredible way.

 

One thought on “Being Known

  1. bonnye1 says:

    Thanks for your post today. I needed to hear this again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

